L is for Love

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.” 1Corinthians 13:4-8

Really, trying to write a poem that tops that is futile.  Maybe it’s because I am old now, but poems about idealistic romantic love don’t do a thing for me. Love that weathers storms, that stays gracious in the hard times, that never gives up, now THAT is a kind of love I can get excited about. I am not very good at it myself, but I have seen it and been blessed!

Today my lover brought me coffee

Because without it I am grumpy

Not for his sake did he serve me

He did it to be lovely

Beneath that head of graying hair

He thought of me with care

With hands that now show signs of wear

Kindness was served in earthenware

He forgot my faults of yesterday

And let his patience lead the way

His perseverance on display

This costly love, he chose to pay

Today my lover brought me coffee.

Leave a comment